Hail the Month of May!

Growing up in the midwest of the US, the month of May meant longer, warmer days. Yes, there was the occasional late straw-throwing, shingle-shaking, tornado, but nobody’s perfect. Oh and there was the one year when it actually snowed in June, but that was the exception to the rule and we’re discussing May, not June.

I remember eagerly signing up for the school sport days. I was good at potato sack racing and the three-legged race. I even won a 20 yard dash once, but only because my legs were so long. I was already out of breath at 10 yards and basically let myself fall forwards into the finish line the remaining 10 yards. But the important part was that it was May. May was my Baby Bear month… not too hot, not too cold.

Now that I live in Germany, May is more like Jekyl and Hyde month. Last week, I had to send my son to Kindergarten with his Anorak, a long-sleeved shirt, a short-sleeved shirt underneath, jeans and a pair of shorts to change into later. It was 9 degrees Celsius when we left the house and over 20 degrees Celsius when I picked him up. In between, it rained, hailed, and there was a gale so strong that I swear I saw the black-clad nannies from Mary Poppins blow in and back out.

Today is another one of those dreary sunless days. Not even being a sunshine magnet is helping me today. So instead of relying on nature, I decided to create my own sunshine in my house.

This is all that remains of my mid-morning sunshine tea of scones and strawberry jam. What tasty sunshine it was!

About InkMusician

I am a writer, cook and dreamer. I am sister to none and daughter to one.
This entry was posted in Food, Germany, Inspiration, Life, Nostalgia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

