What Color is Your World?

Recently, someone I know told me and some others that she is a synesthete. These are people who see things such as numbers, letters, sounds, days of the week, etc. as a color. I found that quite interesting. While I am not a synesthete, I have a theory about the color of certain places on this planet. It’s more association than anything else, but the same colors come to mind whenever I hear the names of certain places.

Germany: German Gray – there is no other color that describes Germany better to me than gray.
Spain: Fire Red – I think I even almost got a sunburn in Mallorca one year and, if you know me, that says a lot!
England: Sea Breeze Blue or Majestic Green – I love the coast, midlands and the cities in England.
Sydney, Australia: Greedy Green – I’ve never seen such lush vegetation as I did in the Blue Mountains.
New Zealand: Bitey Bug Brown or Scary Fern Green – If you’ve even been to the South Island, you know what I’m talking about.
Pensacola, Florida: Burnt Orange – My clothes, shoes, toys, etc. were always covered in red clay after a visit to my grandmother. What a great memory!
The Universe: Bold Sparkling Black

Okay, so not all of the colors are real colors, but that is what I would name them if someone put the colors in front of me. If anyone knows anyone at a certain famous crayon manufacturer, could you recommend that they make a ‘Colors of the World’ box of crayons? So what color is your world?

About InkMusician

I am a writer, cook and dreamer. I am sister to none and daughter to one.
This entry was posted in Life, Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Color is Your World?

  1. Stellenbosch, South Africa: Antique Ruby – The sunsets throw a deep red glow on the mountains and this time of year the vineyards are a blend of oranges, reds and yellows.

  2. Inky says:

    Sounds beautiful! I will get to see the beauty of South Africa for myself next year.

Leave a Reply

