Society, society on the wall…

who’s the fairest of them all?

It seems that all the money I’ve spent through the years buying mirrors was completely unnecessary. There’s hardly a day that doesn’t go by where someone or something hasn’t reminded me of the color of my skin. That doesn’t necessarily have to be a bad thing, but really? Don’t these mirror people have anything better to do?

When I wake up in the mornings, I usually stretch. Amazingly, every morning the same thing happens: two black hands attached to black arms stretch out in front of me. I’ve yet to be surprised by this, but I can’t say that I really take notice of the color. They are just my arms and hands.

When I peer in the mirror as I’m multi-tasking brushing my teeth and plying the sleep out of my eyes, I only see me looking back. It never occurs to me that a black woman is staring at me. There are so many moments every day where I confront a mirror and almost never do I think of the fact that I am black. But I don’t need to. Society has become my mirror. I hope someone remembers to clean that mirror every once in a while. It’s beginning to get smudged.

About InkMusician

I am a writer, cook and dreamer. I am sister to none and daughter to one.
This entry was posted in Germany, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Society, society on the wall…

  1. Zyriacus says:

    Just have to comment on that – How about to compliment the next person you see on his/her sallow, waxen complexion just before he/she is making a remark on your colour?

    • InkMusician says:

      I still believe in treating others as I would like to be treated. That would keep me from making such a comment to someone.

Leave a Reply

