Autumn foods

Like most people, I also have a favorite season. My season is autumn. I love the colors, the smells and the flavors. Although I woke up on Saturday morning to falling snow and this morning I had to scrape ice off my windows, it is still technically autumn.

Though I grew up eating sweet potato pie and loathing pumpkin pie, today I can appreciate many recipes with pumpkin in them. Last week, I made Nigella Lawson’s Thai Yellow Pumpkin and Seafood Curry. It’s pretty much a staple on my table during pumpkin season. It’s so easy to make and tastes fab!

The week before, I made pumpkin chips and served them with Maldon sea salt. I say “serve” like it was a dinner party. It was just me, the old beat up pan I baked them in and a happy fork.

Tonight, I ventured past pumpkin to peas. I was one of those weird children that actually looked forward to eating split pea soup. And now I have turned my own child into one. I’m old enough to know what life was like before there were all these fancy chunky soup brands. But it didn’t matter. I even ate the watery stuff. But now, I will never, ever, ever eat another canned soup.

Who knew that it was simpler than simple to make your own split pea soup? It was so delicious and so autumn. The dab of creme fraiche on the top wasn’t necessary, but it was a nice touch. I won’t bore you with the details. The recipe is from Epicurious.com. I did alter it a little (as I inevitably do with most recipes), but since I don’t have a comparison to the original, I’ll just say that mine was fab! The proof is in the picture. If you’re squeemish about peas, do not look at the picture below! If you can appreciate the beauty of a perfect green pea, enjoy!

Image

About InkMusician

I am a writer, cook and dreamer. I am sister to none and daughter to one.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Autumn foods

  1. Looks beautiful – love the colour!

    • Inky says:

      There has even been a request from youngest family member to have this yummy “snake” green soup again. I’m not sure I like the snake association, but I’m glad he liked it!

Leave a Reply

